Like a Hoho

brown on the outside, white on the inside

boop. July 7, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — pippa301 @ 1:59 pm

Guess what! I’m not dead! I know you were all really concerned. Since the last time we I spoke, I ran Broad Street (1 hour, 45 minutes, didn’t die), officially lost 20 pounds (yay for having clothes that fit!), went to Hershey Park, and have had quite a lovely summer start. In the midst of it, I developed a sudden aversion to talking about myself (yes, I do realize this is a blog where mostly I talk about myself. I have issues, we can explore those at a later date). I think it was because I actually accomplished something I set out to do, and talking about it feels like bragging (when usually I just complain and rant around these parts). ANYWAY, moving on.

Remember when I said I hate the news? In light of the recent Casey Anthony trial verdict, that feeling has grown much stronger.  A few years back, my mom gave me “The World According to Mr. Rodgers” for Christmas. Yes, the Mr. Rodgers. I just watched a clip of him and let me just say, I would wear his house sweaters, they are vintage at their finest. I’d update the look with a large belt, of course. This little book is full of quotes and blurbs from him, and he totally knew what he was talking about when it came to the quiet moments of life and the heart of people. I came upon it the other day, and I want to share the following, because I find it incredibly uplifting.

“When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.”
— Fred Rogers
Sounds to me like Mr. Rodgers Momma knew what was up. Thanks for making me feel better about humankind, ma’am.
 

One Response to “boop.”

  1. mrsgerrard2 Says:

    Mr Rogers made me so happy. My brother used to change his shoes with him every day. I’m feeling super sappy today. Maybe because I’m listening to a pandora station that is all movie soundtracks and it keeps playing songs from sad war movies.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.