In the bag.

Yesterday my purse felt heavy, so I started taking things out to see what was causing it. One time when I was younger, my mom’s purse got really heavy. When she cleaned it out, she found 40 something dollars in change. Unfortunately, money is not what was weighing me down.

Here you have the contents of my purse on a normal day. Let’s dissect, shall we?

  • Electronics – I have a pocket of my purse dedicated to electronic equipment. Most days, that means camera, camera battery charger, card reader and cell phone. Yesterday morning I took my camera out to take a picture of Maggie being cute with her new ball, and forgot to put it back in. I do not carry my Kindle in my electronics pocket. That goes in the regular pocket (closest to my heart, because that’s how much I love my Kindle).
  • Food – I always have food in my bag. Not on purpose, but all the time.  have been carrying around this pack of oatmeal for almost 2 months. I always forget it’s in there and re-pack a new one for the day, so it just sits. If you are an oatmeal lover, you should check out this brand – Better Oats. They come 5 to a box, are usually a buck at Target and fill you up for the whole morning. I am a fan of their Strawberries and Cream.
  • Fruit – I very often buy fruit at wawa or the fruit truck and then think I ate it but didn’t or forget about it all together. Last week was really busy at work, and on Friday when I cleaned my files off my desk, I found a banana. I was 100% sure I had eaten it on Wednesday. It was a little brown, but I ate it anyway.
  • Lollipops – My pretend cousin had a baby and my pretend aunt made these to celebrate. I had one for me, one for Michael and one for Pap-pap and forgot to hand them out. Whoops.
  • “Beauty Products” – Chapstick, inhaler. Nerd Alert. Also, Soft Lips! I impulse bought a two pack of Soft Lips Chapstick at the cash register display at Target. It’s like my lips are in middle school again – bliss.
  • Money Stuff- There was a time when I always went out without my license, and couldn’t get into bars because of it. I was like, 24. I have since become a grown up and always carry my cards and license with me. I’m supposed to be saving my quarters to give to the Lord in this book. I hope Jesus takes checks, cause Septa takes quarters and I have used mine all up.
  • Why do I have 3 pens? I have no answer. I don’t even write things when I’m not at work.

So, there you have it. I think my purse was heavy from the apple, because everything else is an every day item. You will be pleased to know that I located the second glove under my desk, so they are reunited once again.

On a final, disgusting note – do you see that hint of navy blue lanyard on my keys? I’ve had that since my first week of college, and it used to hold my ID card and such. I would keep the card tucked in my back pocket, so the lanyard would hang down in the back. The result of this is that the lanyard has been in the toilet more times than I can count. When I would pull my jeans down I’d forget it was hanging back there and in it went. Dis.gus.ting. It’s the one piece of college memorabilia that I’ve kept, and also the only way I’m able to locate my keys in my bag most days. Deal with it.

P.S. Have you tried the Desserts Delights gum? They’re all delicious and all taste exactly like what they promise. It’s a total Willy Wonka experience.

P.P.S. That card with the big L on it is from an exhibit of Charles Schulz’s love letters that I went to last weekend. The dude who made Charlie Brown was so totally obsessed with this woman that I was almost embarrassed for him by the of it. I also get embarrassed when I read my own love letters from the past, so maybe that’s just me. One time my friend read one…out loud…to everyone I know…at my wedding. I wonder if this is what Charles Schulz would look like if he saw me reading his.

 

One thought on “In the bag.

  1. Mrs Gerrard says:

    Softlips just brought me back so far. I loved the vanilla kind!

    And we all know that Charles Schultz loved to wear dresses. He especially had a big thing for wedding dresses. He said it made him feel more like Sally would.

Leave a comment